Zero Waste find.

Just got back from running some errands. I was in Port Elgin at Well In Hand (a lovely health food store) getting my kids their vitamins when something caught my eye.

There, sitting in the food section, looking very hopeful, was a black stand up cooler and a beer tap sitting atop. Closer look, Kombucha ON TAP!

I should’ve taken a picture, but my inner zero waster was too happy. “Bring a mason jar and fill it up. $3.99 for 500 ml. $7.99 for 1 litre.” the sign said. I didn’t have a jar with me, unfortunately…But I wanted to try it so I picked up a bottle. Yummy. I will be bringing a jar next time. Thank you Well in Hand for stepping up the zero waste game.

The kombucha is brewed by a company called Live Kombucha. They are an Ontario company with a great emphasis local production and reducing waste. Becoming the first kombucha company to provide their product on tap.  So happy.

Ok, that’s it. I just wanted to share my little find.

Enjoy your day.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Zero Waste find.

  1. That’s not such a little find–I’d say it’s a grand discovery. =) I wish the U.S. would start sporting Zero Waste grocery stores. Instead, we are inundated with big box mercantiles that still ask if we want paper or plastic. =( Actually, reading your post reminds me of Old Sturbridge Village where I sometimes volunteer. It is a re-created 1830’s town using real houses, antiques and artifacts from that time period (as well as some authentic-looking reproductions for constant use). Anyway, their country store is one of the places I usually work. Customers in the late-1830’s purchased glass bottles, ceramic pitchers or some other re-usable vessel to carry home their purchases of wine and spirits, vinegar, olive oil, and various other liquids. There were also no landfills in those days. Everything was re-cycled/re-purposed for something else: old rags were sold back to the store (or else the “rag man” came to call) for credit as they could sell the rags to the paper manufacturers (paper was made from cloth until the 1950’s); ashes from your hearth could be sold to glass manufacturers as it was used in the process or else, fancy soap manufacturers. It would definitely be nice if we could return to such a simpler way of living. Albeit, we don’t manufacture paper from cloth anymore because our clothes are inundated with synthetic materials that don’t process well but we’d also be healthier wearing the natural fabrics again. =( I’m getting nostalgic…sorry! =) Thank you for sharing! =)

  2. hi, thanks for your comment lisa:) companies realizing that packaging can be useful instead of disposable would be great…but small victories where we came find them, right? i just ripped a pair a favourite jeans, so I’m channeling my inner settler and going to find another use for them…hopefully someday simple living will be mainstream:)

Leave a Reply

