i like to make things

So here’s some of the zero waste crafty things I’ve made lately.

I’ve been teaching myself how to crochet via YouTube. I had a bunch of leftover yarn from various projects from over the years that I’ve schlepped around from place to place. So I made a blanket for my son’s rooms. It’s not the prettiest thing, but he likes and it put a nice dent into my yarn bin. yah!

20160218_101850

I busted out my never-used sewing machine to make some bags with an old bed sheet. I tried recalled all the information I learned from my Gr. 10 sewing class (life skills courses should be mandatory in school…but I digress) and made some simple bags and a couple of napkin/hankies. I love them! So many uses. There’s still half the sheet left I’m going to make more.

20160219_162938

I made laundry detergent this week too. I’ve only washed 3 loads but so far so good. It’s a pretty simple recipe too….

  • 1 cup bar soap: grated (I used regular body soap I got a bulk barn)
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 1/2 cup borax ( I know borax is toxic, but I can’t find washing soda anywhere, once I find washing soda I’ll switch out the borax).
  • I mixed it all up in my glorious food processor. I use 1 tbsp per load and because we only wash in cold water I dissolve it a bit in some warm water first. Bam, awesome smelling laundry.

20160216_115227

That’s it for now. Have a happy Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

