rant

*I should preface this post by saying, I don’t want to discourage anybody from trying out the waste free lifestyle…a shift in our consumerism needs to change if we ever expect to keep this planet…I think this is just growing pains and we’re new to this and we’re figuring it out as we go and every waste-free journey looks different for each individual…

So with that being said, here is my i’m-a-cheap-mom-who-doesn’t-like-to-spend-a-lot-on-food-beause-i’m-so-used-to-buying-cheap-crap rant…*

Enjoy…

We’ve been doing the waste free thing (to the best of our abilities) for almost a month now. I have been happily surprised to be able to find a lot of want we need waste free…

However…

Whilst grocery shopping today I spent a lot of money. Now a few item were things we get like once a month or so, but still, spending $8 for packaged free chocolate chips when it would have cost half the price for the same in a package at Wal-Mart has got me seriously doubting our decision to do this. Our food bill has increased more than I expected, I’m going to be honest here. I know during the first part of the 20th century people spent the majority of their money (after living costs) on food…I think I understand now… But what I’m having a hard time with is shouldn’t something that comes package free be cheaper then it’s plastic-covered counterpart? There’s no packaging…what the hell am I paying so much more for? It is made by fairies? Has a unicorn sneezed all over it and now it’s magical? Cuz I’m pretty sure it’s the same crap I can get at Wal-Mart for a crap ton cheaper.

Now it could just be Bulk Barns prices? Are they just an expensive store? Am I just being cheap? Am I not a savvy shopper? Have I become addicted to Wal-Marts low prices and anything else seems ridiculously over-priced? Is my families going waste free really going to do anything in grand scheme of things? Basically I’m having an existential crisis…

I don’t want to shop at Bulk Barn or Sobey’s anymore because it’s so much cheaper to go to Wal-mart and buy a package of macaroni noodles for a $1. Same thing at Bulk Barn…$6…and I guess that’s the whole f**king problem with our system…

I’m passionate about riding the world of unnecessary plastic, I want to be clear about that, this could just be a hangry induced rant and I’ll read this later and cringe a wee bit at the level of bitchiness I seem to have about this, but holy crap I’m pissed.

Has anyone else run into this? Is it just me?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

