closest are overrated.

One more thing checked off the list for the kids rooms. They now have closets…well, sort of.

On and off for the past two years their clothes have been sitting in bins. When we lived in our trailer the space underneath the bunks was just big enough to put two bins side by side. When we moved here, a small closet did the job.

this worked out very well for them when they shard a room. The closet never had doors, which I also liked.
This worked out very well for them when they shared a room. The closet never had doors, which I also liked.

But, when reno season started this past april that small closet was ripped out to make space for the new rooms. Since then, their clothes have been moved back into bins.  Side note: we have entered the stage in life where my daughter will express her deep despair that she has nothing to wear while sitting on the floor cocooning herself with all of her clothes. Pretty sure no closet big or small will save her from such strife. Poor little lamb.

Anywho…

The way their rooms are configured now a walled in structure just isn’t going to work. I’ve been pinning a few ideas (pinterest, I love you) and yesterday went to Home Depot to see what I could rig together. Here’s what I was going for…

I liked the openness of this and the wheels.
I liked the openness of this and the wheels.
This one I love, but do you know who hard it is to find metal plumbing pipes?
This one I love, but do you know who hard it is to find metal plumbing pipes?

Home Depot proved to be a pinterest fail. Seriously, where can you find metal plumbing pipe?  Here’s what we went with at the end of the day…It’s also temporary till I find that damned, mysterious plumbing pipe. Stupid stuff was probably staring right in the face and I was too distracted by all the shiny things laid out before me. Oh well…

Prefab steel carts. Not looking like my pinterest dreams, but these bad boys can hold up to 300lbs, have wheels, with locks, and hold all of the clothes. Also, the kids being able to see all of their clothes makes getting ready for the day/night much easier.
Prefab steel carts. Not looking like my pinterest dreams, but these bad boys can hold up to 300lbs, have wheels, with locks, and hold all of the clothes. Also, the kids being able to see all of their clothes makes getting ready for the day/night much easier. Also, this is me trying to make the best of a bad pinterest situation. 

Bins have been moved to our crawl space to be used later and now they have a more organized system, which makes this organized-loving mom very happy.

Admittedly, I very badly wanted to set up my daughters ‘closet’ the way I would want it, but its her clothes and she’s the one that puts them away and has to wear them so what would be the point. Unfortunately my must-unclutter-the-world goggles were on and  I did intervene a little bit and fussed with it a bit to which she said, “feel better now?” and I said yes and walked out.

Leave a Reply

