Making your own pit paste

The slow life started 2 days ago when we picked up a jar of coconut oil and made our own deodorant. Hubby was very excited for some reason to make this and see if it works. He’s a skeptic when it comes to all natural deodorant. Probably because he’s seen me try a million of them and I wind up pitching them because I still have B.O. 

But I have to say, 2 days later I’m loving it. So’s Hubby. Though the real test will be his cross fit workout on Saturday. 

Here’s the recipe we’ve used. Seems pretty common from the comments on Facebook

Homemade Deodorant

1/4 cup baking soda

1/4 corn starch or arrowroot powder (doesn’t matter which one you use, it’s whatever you prefer)

6-8 tbsp of coconut oil

*use can use a couple of drops of your favourite essential oil if you’d like*

Mash it altogether in a bowl until it becomes a paste. Put in a resealable container. I used a small tupperware container. And voila! You’re done!

To apply, just take a small amount (I use a dime size) and rub till it’s absorbed. So far no residue on my clothes, and it hasn’t irritated my skin, unlike chemical deodorant that made my lymph nodes swell up every time I used it.  The added bonus is smelling like a macaroon.

Next on the docket is toothpaste and going ‘no-poo’ for me. 

I also just picked up a bottle of Castile soap and can’t wait to try it out. 

Good luck and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

